The Mika Ahola "Brave One" Trophy is back for the fifth consecutive edition! From Christophe NAMBOTIN in 2012 to Eero REMES last year, who will be the next rider to win the famous belt which represents the Mika Ahola "Brave One” award? It was in Puerto Lumbreras in the Murcia region of Spain that the 2017 competitors had the chance to do battle for the first KTM Enduro Test of the season, one which proved to be physical and technical on the arid and dusty Spanish soil.

MABOTMatthew PHILLIPS (AUS - Sherco), the reigning EnduroGP World Champion, took second place on Saturday and a win on Sunday, making him the first leader of the Trophy this season. But he was matched by Steve HOLCOMBE (GB - Beta) who managed to counter the ambitions of the Australian rider. The Brit joins him at the head of the "Brave One" Trophy standings thanks to his good performance during the weekend (1/2). These two riders gave it their all on the KTM Enduro Test and left no chance for their opponents, thus the pair have taken provisional control of the Mika Ahola "Brave One" Trophy.

REMES and NAMBOTIN to join the fight…

Eero REMES (SF - TM), current holder of the Mika Ahola Brave One Trophy belt, is only 9 points behind the two leaders and he also offered the Spanish public a fierce fight with Christophe NAMBOTIN (F - KTM) for third place in the standings. Just like PHILLIPS and HOLCOMBE at the top, REMES (4/3) and NAMBOTIN (3/4) draw on points and will head to Spoleto (Italy) tied on 28 points each.
Loïc LARRIEU (F - Yamaha), focused throughout the weekend, completes the Top 5 of the Mika Ahola "Brave One" Trophy...
The young new rookie Brad FREEMAN (GB - Beta) is also in the rankings, he is the only Junior rider to score points in the Trophy during this second round of the World Championship in Puerto Lumbreras.

Although PHILLIPS and HOLCOMBE are top of the leaderboard after the first round of the Trophy at the AMV Seguros GP of Spain, NAMBOTIN showed that he has the capability to fight for first place and win the belt of the Mika Ahola Brave One Trophy once again. So too has Eero REMES, Winner in 2016.

Provisional Classification : 1. Matthew PHILLIPS 37pts; 1. Steve HOLCOMBE 37pts; 3. Christophe NAMBOTIN 28 pts; 3. Eero REMES 28 pts; 5. Loïc LARRIEU 22 pts; 6. Jamie MCCANNEY 16 pts; 6. Cristobal GUERRERO 16 pts; 8. Josep GARCIA 12 pts ; 9. Jaume BETRIU 10pts ; 10. Lorenzo SANTOLINO 10pts...

Steve HOLCOMBE (GB - Beta)